Reef HQ Programs | Students | Reef Guardians | GBR Explorer | Visual Library | Reef Beat |

2007 Award Winners

Thank you to all the schools that submitted Annual Reports in 2007.  All projects no matter how big or small all demonstrate an ongoing commitment to a sustainable future for the Great Barrier Reef.  The environmental, economical, social and educational outcomes that have been achieved during this year are once again truly inspiring.  The high standard of reports received is a credit to the schools, the Reef Guardian Coordinator and most importantly the students.  The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority would also like to thank the broader school communities, local Councils and other Natural Resource Management agencies for their support of the schools and their Reef Guardian projects.  To find out why schools were chosen for specific Reef Guardian Schools Awards and the types of projects that will be supported through "Ripples of Change" funding.  Please read the Awards Overview.

It is with great pleasure that the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority would like to announce the following award recipients:

Reef Guardian Champions Award - for mentoring or facilitating higher learning
Hambledon State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)

Sea 'Stars' Award - for youth directed and owned activities
Wondai State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)

Waste Watchers Award
- for reducing, reusing and recycling
Taranganba State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)

Water Warriors Award - for water conservation or water quality improvement
Woree State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)

Learning Legends Award - for outstanding education in the classroom arena
Cannonvale State School (GBRMPA Central Region)

Action and Adventures Award - for action in the field
Townsville Central State School (GBRMPA Northern Region)

Community Connection Award - for reaching out to your local community
St Patrick’s College (GBRMPA Northern Region)

Habitat Heroes Award - for outstanding improvement in your local environment
Aloomba State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)

'r-Amp It Down' Award - for reducing your ecological footprint through energy conservation
Kalkie State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)

Bright Sparks Award - for creativeness, inventiveness and innovations
St Francis Tannum Sands (GBRMPA Southern Region)

"Ripples of Change" support funding recipients

Innisfail State High School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)
Cairns State High School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)
Emerald State High School (GBRMPA Southern Region)
Heatley Secondary College (GBRMPA Northern Region)
Wonga Beach State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)
Wartburg State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)
Kelso State School (GBRMPA Northern Region)
Clare State School (GBRMPA Northern Region)
Seaforth State School (GBRMPA Central Region)
Edge Hill State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)
East Palmerston State School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)
Tin Can Bay State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)
St Colman’s School (GBRMPA Northern Region)
Beaconsfield State School (GBRMPA Central Region)
Gympie State High School (GBRMPA Southern Region)
Whitsundays PCYC (GBRMPA Central Region)
The Hall State School (GBRMPA Southern Region)
Willows State School (GBRMPA Northern Region)
Burdekin Christian College (GBRMPA Northern Region)
St Francis Xavier’s School (GBRMPA Far Northern Region)